Tilson to Join Prime Minister for G-8 Meeting in Northern Ireland

June 11, 2021

OTTAWA - David Tilson, Member of Parliament for Dufferin-Caledon, will join Prime Minister Stephen Harper as he travels to Northern Ireland to participate in the G-8 Lough Erne Summit on June 17-18, 2013. Ahead of the Summit, Mr. Tilson will accompany the Prime Minister to London, UK (June 11-13), Paris, France (June 14-15), and Dublin, Ireland (June 15-17).

“In my role as President of the Canada-Europe Parliamentary Association, I believe that having a structured forum in which we can communicate with our European counterparts is of the utmost importance,” said Mr. Tilson. “I look forward to continuing our dialogue on how we can strengthen the global economy, enhance transparency and accountability while also addressing matters of international security.”

This year’s G-8 Lough Erne Summit will focus on advancing trade, international security, ensuring tax compliance and promoting greater transparency and accountability. The G-8 Summit will bring together the leaders of Canada, the European Union, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States.

During his visits to the UK, France and Ireland, Prime Minister Harper will meet with the leaders of state and government of each country while emphasizing the importance of concluding a Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement and to discuss international security challenges with his fellow leaders.

While in the UK, the Honourable John Baird, Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, and the Honourable Joe Oliver, Minister of Natural Resources, will also join the Prime Minister. In France, the Prime Minister will be accompanied by Minister Baird, Minister Fast, and the Honourable Steven Blaney, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Minister for La Francophonie in addition to Mr. Tilson. Finally, in Ireland, the Prime Minister will be accompanied by the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, Minister Fast, and Mr. Tilson.