Tilson Congratulates CDDHS Students

May 27, 2021

OTTAWA, ON - David Tilson, Member of Parliament for Dufferin-Caledon, today rose in the House of Commons to congratulate the Rebecca Janke and Jeff Allen of Centre Dufferin District High School in Shelburne, on being named Canada’s youth ambassadors for the upcoming 70th Anniversary D-Day commemorations. He also praised their teacher, Neil Orford, for his inspiration to all the students there.

“Mr. Speaker, it is with pride and honour that I rise today to commend two students from Centre Dufferin District High School in Shelburne in my riding of Dufferin-Caledon.

Rebecca Janke and Jeff Allen have been chosen to be Canada’s youth ambassadors at the upcoming ceremonies commemorating the 70th Anniversary of D-Day. They will recite the Commitment to Remember in front of tens of thousands who will gather in France on June 6 to pay tribute to the Canadians and our Allies who took part in the Normandy landings.

Centre Dufferin has a long history with the Juno Beach Centre, being for many years the most active school in the country in terms of fundraising and commitment to our history there. It is a great credit to their teacher, Mr. Neil Orford, who is the inspiration behind these students’ commitment. Earlier this year, Mr. Orford was awarded the Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Teaching in recognition of his outstanding efforts.

Congratulations to Rebecca and Jeff and all the students at Centre Dufferin – I know they will make Canada proud.”