MP David Tilson Announces Funding to the County of Dufferin- Mel Lloyd Centre

May 04, 2021

- As a result of the Government of Canada’s Enabling Accessibility Fund, the Mel Lloyd Centre through the Corporation of the County of Dufferin in Shelburne, will increase accessibility for people with disabilities and enable them to participate more fully in their community.

David Tilson, Member of Parliament for Dufferin-Caledon, made the announcement today at the Mel Lloyd Centre, which is receiving grant funding under the Enabling Accessibility Fund.

“Our Government recognizes the abilities of all Canadians and is committed to removing barriers to participation for people with disabilities,” said Mr. Tilson. “We are proud to work with the Mel Lloyd Centre, which is helping Canadians gain greater access to facilities, programs and services in their communities.”

The Mel Lloyd Centre is receiving $20,311 to install automated door openers.

“This funding from the Federal Government will increase the number of accessible doors in the Mel Lloyd Centre,“ stated Warden Walter Kolodziechuk. “The Mel Lloyd Centre has become a recognized hub for many services and organizations in our community. This funding will help us improve accessibility for the many citizens who use the centre.”

Through the Enabling Accessibility Fund, the Government has supported over 800 projects across the country, including 188 new projects totalling $6.2 million that were recently announced.



Enabling Accessibility Fund – Small Project Component

The Enabling Accessibility Fund was originally announced in 2007 as a three-year, $45-million program to support community-based projects across Canada. In 2010, the Fund was extended with an additional three-year, $45-million commitment and the creation of a new mid-sized component. Since the first call for proposals in 2008, over 800 projects have been awarded funding to improve accessibility in Canadian communities.

The following types of organizations were eligible to apply for funding:

  • not-for-profit organizations;
  • small municipalities (with a population under 250 000 as per census data);
  • small private-sector organizations (fewer than 50 employees and under $5 million in gross revenue per year);
  • colleges and universities;
  • territorial governments; and
  • Aboriginal governments.