11th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region

September 15, 2021

OTTAWA, ON -The Parliament of Canada, under the auspices of the Canada-Europe Parliamentary Association, hosted the 11th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region from September 09 to 11, 2014, in Whitehorse, Yukon.

The President of the Canada-Europe Parliamentary Association, David Tilson, Q.C., M.P., and the Chair of the Standing Committee of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region, Sara Olsvig, M.P. from Denmark, presided over the meetings. As Co-Chairs of the Conference, Mr. Tilson and Ms. Olsvig welcomed 100 delegates representing Parliaments of the Arctic states (Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and U.S.A) and the European Parliament; indigenous peoples’ organizations; and parliaments of nations and organizations that have observer status at the Arctic Council.

“The excellent presentations, the thoughtful discussions, and not least, the spirit of friendship and cooperation have been truly impressive,” said Mr. Tilson. “I am proud to have played a role in collectively adopting many goals that focus on the following:

  • improve infrastructure in support of economic growth and traditional northern livelihood, fisheries, and agriculture;
  • secure the role of indigenous peoples in the various governance regimes of the circumpolar world, particularly at the Arctic Council;
  • integrate the communities of science, politics, business, and local peoples in order to innovate and build thriving and sustainable Northern economies;
  • recommendations that recognize the rights of the people of the Arctic to secure their livelihoods through the sale of traditional products.”

The Parliament of Canada actively supports Arctic parliamentary cooperation and Arctic Council initiatives under Canada’s Chairmanship of the Arctic Council.

The Canadian delegation included: Senators Percy Downe, Daniel Lang, Ghislain Maltais, Michel Rivard, as well as Members of Parliament Joyce Bateman, Dennis Bevington, Corneliu Chisu, Yvonne Jones, Ryan Leef, Beverley Shipley, and David Tilson.